More about Windows Mobile 6.5

After my previous post about WinMo 6.5, I thought I should post something explaining my comments.

Microsoft has been selling the same version of their mobile OS for more than 5 years now.  5 years ago, the iPhone did not exist, and Palm OS was a big deal.  Now, the iPhone is King, and Palm has bet the farm on WebOS (which I like quite a bit, but that is for another post).  In this time, MS has done little to change their mobile OS. 

You don’t get a stylus with the iPhone or the Pre.  You still get one with the WinMo 6.5 devices.  Why?  because you need one.  The “x” to close applications is still the same size it has always been, and hitting it with your finger is difficult.  The keyboard is still small.  It provides no feedback when you type.  And again, you need a stylus.

MS has put a different “skin” on the front (a Zune-like scrolling list of apps/tasks), and the application icons are bigger and easier to use without the stylus, but it is still the same old MS desktop shrunk down to mobile device size.  It is still bloated, clunky, and not real stable. 

I expected more.  I am certainly expecting a lot from MS with WinMo 7.  If they listened to their customers like Palm does, I might not be typing this.

About Tim Smeltzer
I am a husband, father, and technologist. While I am very much interested in almost all technology, my current area of specialty is secure mobile messaging. You will find me blogging from time to time on mobile technology - what I think is cool, what I think is not cool, and how to do things. Please be nice if you leave me comments. I am really trying to help!

Leave a Reply

