Sprint Hero with Android 2.1 Update 1 is working with Exchange 2010!

Great news! I tried again this morning to create an EAS account on my Sprint Hero (Android 2.1 Update 1), and I was successful. I had tried and failed last night, and I have tried several times every day since the upgrade, and this is the first time that it has worked. Now, everything is working well – email, calendar, and contacts. I wish I could say what has changed, but I am not sure. If I figure it out, I will post about it here. I am not sure if the Firmware was “Update 1” when I first did the upgrade…. maybe that is it?

About Tim Smeltzer
I am a husband, father, and technologist. While I am very much interested in almost all technology, my current area of specialty is secure mobile messaging. You will find me blogging from time to time on mobile technology - what I think is cool, what I think is not cool, and how to do things. Please be nice if you leave me comments. I am really trying to help!

2 Responses to Sprint Hero with Android 2.1 Update 1 is working with Exchange 2010!

  1. Mel says:

    I upgraded my Hero from 1.5 to 2.1 yesterday. Ugh. I even wrote down the Exchange ActiveSync settings prior to them wiping my phone. I have tried numerous time to set up the account. No luck. Do you know what you did? Can you send the magic faeries my way? My office is running Office 2003 Small Business Server Exchange Server 6.5. Thanks in advance!

    • Tim Smeltzer says:

      I wish I could say I did something magic. I had been trying for days (5) to get it to work – removing EAS policy settings, restarting the Hero, on 3G and on WiFi, and re-entering my settings for EAS. I tried the night before going into work, and it still failed. I got into work the next morning and tried it again, and it worked. I even pulled the logs from the CAS Server as well as the IIS logs and found my last failure and first success to compare. I could not find anything that had changed on my device, the domain controller, or any of the Exchange Servers. I am trying to get an Evo for more than one day to see if I can figure it out. Once I get it, I will post if I can figure out what makes it work. In the meantime, keep trying with your Hero.

Leave a Reply

