System Update for the Sprint Hero

I am just installing System Upgrade 2.27.651.6 (3.71 MB) for the Sprint Hero running Android 2.1. The previous version was 2.27.651.1.

According to Sprint:

An update also is available for HTC Hero.

Go to >Settings >About Phone >System Updates > HTC software update and then follow the instructions as prompted.

The software download will occur in the background, but during installation of the update, the user will be unable to make phone calls or use the phone. The actual update should take approximately 5 minutes.

After reading several forums, this update seems to kill the ability to Root the Hero running Android 2.1. So, if Root is important to you, you may want to wait until there is a workaround.

About Tim Smeltzer
I am a husband, father, and technologist. While I am very much interested in almost all technology, my current area of specialty is secure mobile messaging. You will find me blogging from time to time on mobile technology - what I think is cool, what I think is not cool, and how to do things. Please be nice if you leave me comments. I am really trying to help!

Leave a Reply

