Motorola Cliq from T-Mobile

I know this is an older device, but I just had to post something about it.  I just finished charging this device and updating it (using the built-in automatic update feature).  I am now running:

System:  Blur_Version.1.3.17.MB200.T-Mobile.en.US

Firmware: Android 1.5

Kernel: 2.6.27.build04@il93lnecbld13 #1

After the latest restart (forced by the last update), the Home screen is not loading.  It is throwing the error “Activity Home (in application Home) is not responding.”  The only option that doesn’t result in looking at a black screen is “Force close”.  Doing that gets me back to the Home screen, trying to load, but it never does (and eventually throws the error again, resulting in another Force Close).  T-Mobile has made this device useless through their own updates. Fail.

This all forced me to go out and look for something to get this device working again.  I found a YouTube video by CliqAnDroid showing how to upgrade the Cliq to Android OS 2.1 without rooting.  Here is what I am now running on the Cliq:

System:  Blur_Version.2.0.25.MB200.T-Mobile.en.US

Firmware: Android 2.1-update 1

Kernel: 2.6.29.build01@ca25rhe78 #1

So far, this OS update seems to be stable and functional.  If you search YouTube for CliqAnDroid, you will find videos of how to do it and also showing the features of 2.1 on the Cliq.  By the way, I had no problem at all updating from Blur 1.3.17.  If you are running Windows 7, launch any programs you run during the update as Administrator.

As always, let me know if you have questions or issues.  I WILL NOT provide you links to DL any software.  That is what Google is for 🙂

About Tim Smeltzer
I am a husband, father, and technologist. While I am very much interested in almost all technology, my current area of specialty is secure mobile messaging. You will find me blogging from time to time on mobile technology - what I think is cool, what I think is not cool, and how to do things. Please be nice if you leave me comments. I am really trying to help!

Leave a Reply

