Windows Phone 8 – a Quickie

I recently got my hands on a couple of Windows Phone 8 (WP8) devices – the Lumia 822 and the HTC 8X. My first impressions are that they are lightweight and have big, beautiful screens. The Lumia has a nice feel to it and feels good in your hand. The HTC is THIN and also feels good in your hand.

The live tiles are cool and all, but for me, they made my home screen too busy. I really only care about new email and calendar activity, so I got rid of the Photos tile and the People tile (among others). They were just too distracting. The Microsoft Store has some good and familiar apps, but it doesn’t compare to the Apple App Store or the Google Marketplace. I hope that Devs support it and build apps for it. There is currently no VPN support, nor is there support for a proxy server in the web browser (even though there is a Web Proxy app that allows user-enforced proxying).

As for end-point security, Microsoft is saying that Anti-virus, Anti-malware, and Firewall are not necessary due to the device OS architecture and the application approval process for the Microsoft Store. This is a similar story to what RIM says about the BlackBerry and what Apple says about the iPhone. For device encryption, MS leverages TPM 2.0.

Overall, I like both of these devices, and I like the OS pretty well. Not giving up my iPhone yet though.

About Tim Smeltzer
I am a husband, father, and technologist. While I am very much interested in almost all technology, my current area of specialty is secure mobile messaging. You will find me blogging from time to time on mobile technology - what I think is cool, what I think is not cool, and how to do things. Please be nice if you leave me comments. I am really trying to help!

Leave a Reply

